Restlessness

The restlessness I feel tonight,

will only last until it’s light.

 

It’s all because I can’t ignore,

these jumbled thoughts, I’ve had before

 

I remember things I wish had’t,

Things that had been long absent.

 

My mind will rifle through these files,

when it knows I haven’t slept awhile.

 

And, when I’m done with past regrets,

I conjure up new things to fret.

 

Oh, how many nights I’ve troubled.

Behind my eyes, these thoughts have tumbled.

 

Pound by pound, they add up,

If only I had a measuring cup.

 

Because, I will watch and watch these shows,

Until that cocky rooster crows.

One thought on “Restlessness

Leave a Reply

