How to Shop Minimally

Today’s post from the Daily Prompt inspired me to write about a concept I’ve been trying to adopt for a while. Replacement.

 

Today when I buy something I ask myself questions.

  • Do I need it?
  • Does it fill a void that I’ve been wanting to fill for a while?
  • And in relation to this post,
    • Do I already own something that can do this?

 

This unfolds another series of questions:

  • Why do I need this thing if I already have something similar?
  • Does this do it better/faster/more sustainably?
  • Do I need two of these things because one is always borrowed or used elsewhere?

 

I now have a rule for when I buy things:

 

For everything I buy, I must get rid of one thing.

This keeps me from falling down the slippery slope into hoarding again.

 

When I went to Goodwill the other day I donated at least 150 items of clothing. I then went in and bought 3 new things.

I had already met my rule by donating 50x the amount of things I was accumulating. But, there was a problem. I had bought a pair of jeans. I already have a pair of jeans.

2017-01-30-13-44-33

The pair of jeans I already have don’t fit well, I hemmed them (poorly), and they ride way too low in the back. I never wear them.

The new pair fits me wonderfully, I feel great in them and I’m not afraid to move around in them.

So, out with the old and in with the new, my old jean are one of the things I will be getting rid of today in my 30-day challenge. Along with an old box and a stained pair of socks.

via Daily Prompt: Replacement

Leave a Reply

