30-Day Minimalism Challenge

Yesterday I watched the Minimalism Documentary on Netflix and now I am in love with The Minimalists.

Today I am challenging myself to their 30-day minimalism challenge.

The gist of the game is that for 30 days I will get rid of things incrementally. On the first day I will get rid of one thing, on the second I will get rid of two, and so on.

By the end of the 30 days I will have gotten rid of 465 things.

Starting today off with a bang I brought 3 garbage bags full of clothes to Goodwill. I estimate that it was about 150 things. Mostly mine, but some of my husband’s as well.

I am very excited to go on this journey and hope that some of you will go on it with me.

Let me know in the comments if you would like to join in or if you are partaking in a similar challenge. I would love to hear about it!

 

7 thoughts on “30-Day Minimalism Challenge

  1. Have you heard of the KonMari method from the book “The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up” ? This book deals a lot with de-cluttering and it really helped me get rid of a lot of stuff! I haven’t finished the whole process yet, but the book inspired me to try!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Bravojoy!

      I have read it, it was what inspired me to try minimalism the first time around. I got rid of 70% of my stuff a few months ago and now I’m trying to do it again.

      Although this time I find myself also inspired by The Minimalists. They have a great documentary on Netflix!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s great! I have gotten rid of a lot of clothes and papers and am still in the process of going through all my “miscellaneous stuff.”
        That sounds like a documentary I would love to watch!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I have a terrible time with sentimental things and books. Papers were pretty easy but tedious. I know have several filing cabinets worth of paper condensed down into one accordion folder. I just scanned everything I wanted to keep but didn’t need physical copies of.

          I believe in you!

          Like

Leave a Reply

